After making impressive premieres in London and most recently, its lit AF Los Angeles debut, the Jeymes Samuel-directed The Harder They Fall is set to receive the Ensemble Tribute during the 2021 Gotham Awards ceremony, which will take place live and in person on November 29 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. The full list of nominations for the Gotham Awards will be unveiled on October 21.

The Harder They Fall features an all-star ensemble cast of Jonathan Majors, Zazie Beetz, Delroy Lindo, LaKeith Stanfield, Danielle Deadwyler, Edi Gathegi, R.J. Cyler, Damon Wayans Jr., Deon Cole with Regina King and Idris Elba. The film follows outlaw Nat Love, who discovers his enemy Rufus Black is being released from prison then rounds up his gang to track Rufus down and seek revenge.

Jeffrey Sharp, Executive Director of The Gotham Film & Media Institute, said: “Director Jeymes Samuel’s debut film is fully realized with this extraordinary company of actors who perfectly marry the key hallmarks of the ensemble film – collaboration, community, and interconnectivity – resulting in one of the most entertaining movies of the year. We are so proud to recognize The Harder They Fall with this year’s Gotham Ensemble Tribute.”

In addition to directing, Samuel co-wrote The Harder They Fall with Boaz Yakin. The film is produced by Shawn Carter, James Lassiter, Lawrence Bender and Jeymes Samuel. The Harder They Fall will be released in select theaters on October 22 and on Netflix globally on November 3.